More than 340 traffic fatalities were reported in Nevada in 2021 alone. While auto accidents are not rare in the state, people often find themselves grappling with injuries and losses following a mishap on the road. Nevada, for the unversed, is a fault state. The driver found responsible for an accident is also liable for the losses, injuries, and damages endured by others. Winning a settlement following a car accident in Nevada is not always easy, which is precisely why hiring a lawyer becomes so necessary. If you want to seek free legal advice on your case, consider consulting Ladah Law Firm for more details. For your help, here is an overview of the car accident laws in the state.
Deadline for car accident injury lawsuits
If you want to sue the other driver for their negligence, you must file a car accident injury lawsuit within two years of the accident. The statute of limitations in Nevada has set that deadline, which must be adhered to, or the court will dismiss your case. If you lost someone dear in such a road crash, you again have two years to file a wrongful death lawsuit. For lawsuits that concern vehicle and property damage, the deadline is three years.
When more than one driver is at fault
It is not rare to come across accidents where two or more drivers share the blame. If that’s the case, the modified comparative fault rule will be used to determine final settlements in Nevada. According to the rule, you can only sue the other party when your fault share is not higher than theirs. Also, you will get a proportionate share of the settlement, which is decided by your fault in percentage. For instance, if you won $10,00,000 in a settlement and were found 40% at fault, you can only recover $6,00,000.
You need a car accident lawyer
While the laws are meant to help car accident victims, things are often complicated when multiple parties are involved. If you had a share in the blame, you would have to prove that the other party is more liable, which could be a challenge. A car accident lawyer can help find fault and liability; more importantly, they can fight for your rights. Also, because lawyers take up car accident injury lawsuits on a contingency fee, you don’t have to pay the lawyer when you hire them.
Call an attorney to know your car accident case better.